Plead the Fifth

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Plead the Fifth.”

“What are your plans ahead?” – People.

“I plead the fifth” Me. *While I’m killing the person 127578th time in my head*

“It’s really tough to survive out there, people will try to run you over”People.

*sits down next to them and sympathetically looks into their eyes* I don’t care.Me.


All through life most people cannot wait for a chance to step into the real world- Anticipating the chance to have more fun and more opportunities to do things that were always looked upon as being mature and cool. I’ve incessantly appreciated the idea of not being what people expect me to be. Sometimes I fail to believe so. I can surely blame myself but that’s not it. There’s more. There will always be more. Because people. Well hello? I’m under no obligation to make sense to anyone.

I honestly have no clue about my plans ahead!  I’m a pessimist, yes, but that doesn’t make me want to think my life in black and gray. I have painted a picture in my mind which has money, lessons, memories and lots of nutella jars. I don’t know the “how” and “when” but I do know the “why”. Because I know how much I’m asking for. There is a fine line between being concerned and being a pop-up nag.

Pop-up Nags – (n.) People who constantly pop-up in your life with feckless and cyclical questions who generally mistake their imagination with their memory.

Well, I don’t remember how I came up with this word but its close enough. The principle is quite familiar to the word “pop-up ad”. The similarity between “pop-up ads” and “pop-up nags” is that they both are a form of advertisements. Some are advertisements for a good cause but fails to differ (meaning some people who ask just for the sake of asking) while the others are existing just to annoy the human race. What better way to get a person to a specific level than to put advertisement right in their face whether they want it or not? That’s what I think when they ask me about my plans ahead. I’m twenty and there’s just so much to think. How can I manage to encapsulate all my thoughts and queries about my future in few sentences? I have so much to learn yet and I cannot wait to face my challenges and fail in some, because that is my contemporary plan and I’m sticking to it.

So that’s THAT!

Is that too much for pleading the fifth?

Maybe. Maybe not.

———–

P.S – This question really vexes me. So much so that I nearly began to rant about the society, about which I love to criticize. If only I could say “asdfghjkl” in real life.

*sigh*

Leave a Reply

