FEMINAZI #1 – Personal is Political?

Noon-thirty, and I was ready to grab my lunch. You know that feeling when your mind says, “Enough! I ain’t working no more”, close enough to that. While I waited for my companion to join me, I decided to listen to some good music and distract myself from the dying hunger. Beyoncé is one of my favorite female artists, she’s inspiration. There’s a song named “Flawless”, which basically is the main reason why I am down to write this. There’s a short monologue in the song which goes like this:

“We teach girls to shrink themselves

To make themselves smaller

We say to girls,

‘You can have ambition, but not too much

You should aim to be successful, but not too successful

Otherwise you will threaten the man’

Because I am female

I am expected to aspire to marriage

I am expected to make my life choices

Always keeping in my mind that

Marriage is the most important

Now marriage can be source of

Joy and love and mutual support

But why do we teach girls to aspire marriage

And we don’t teach boys the same?

We raise girls to see each other as competitors

Not for jobs or for accomplishments

Which I think can be a good thing

But for the attention of men

We teach girls that they cannot be sexual beings

In the way that boys are”

A bold woman highlighting one word in bold: Feminism.

Screenshot_2014-12-15-15-22-00 (2)

So I quickly removed my earphones and started typing the word which was by now hovering inquisitiveness and need-to-know factor in me. As I keyed the word “Feminists” on the Google search bar, I was knocked for six!! I learnt that Feminism indeed is a felonious subject in the country or probably in the world? I indeed have evidence and you can give it a try as well. Sexist? Ugly?? Stupid?? Annoying?? And then there are some creepy dimwit men who ask “Why do you women always try to impress us with your looks, not with your brains?”

Well, because there is a bigger chance that a man is a moron than he is blind!!

The word feminism is a noun that has a few different meanings. The website www.dictionary.com states that feminism has two definitions. The first states that feminism is “Belief in the social, political, and economic equality of the sexes. The second definition reads, “The movement organized around this belief”. As stated by the Merriam Webster Dictionary, feminism is the “Theory of the political, economic, and social equality of the sexes. The Cambridge Dictionary of the American Language only has “The belief that women should have the same economic, social, and political rights as men” Basically the past three dictionary sources have the same ideas behind the definition. However the Political Dictionary has a more in-depth perception on what feminism is. It defines as “The movement that attempts to obtain women equal rights in all spheres of life including; discrimination in work, education and activities funded by the government”

That definitely raises a lot of questions here, so much so that it’s not even debatable anymore!

These dictionaries with such definitions are but obviously abandoned in such perilous era. I wonder what the meaning of the word “Feminism” would be in the Social Dictionary of today. I don’t understand. If you get a peak of a womens’ thigh or stomach, she’s a slut. So what about the men who pees’ in public? Pretty rad stuff eh? Where the concern should be preventing rape in the country, we are busy making controversies on Deepika Podukones’ cleavage. Where is happening?

Why the personal is political?

I yet have so many perturbing questions in my mind to which I might never get an answer to, but I am sure in the world with 7 billion people there are many such souls who support the same and are tied down by the systems and customs.

As per me, here are my thoughts:

Feminism- the belief that such injustices must be corrected. It is the commitment to work towards a world where women are treated better than they are presently treated. Whereas Radical feminism, stresses that in a social order dominated by men, the process of changing sexual oppression must, as a political necessity, involve a focus on women. It derives a real challenge to add rejection of liberal orientation towards the world of man.

Obviously, this close-minded view of the movement is no more accurate than the narrow-minded stereotypes held therein.

But it’s always good to learn that there are people who are spreading their thoughts and standing up firmly, leaving a scar on social thinking with their words. Here are the some top iconic feminists moments:

“If anybody even tries to whisper the word ‘diet,’ I’m like, ‘You can go f**k yourself.'” – JENNIFER LAWRENCE

If J-Law can do it, why can’t we?

“I guess I am a modern-day feminist. I do believe in equality. Why do you have to choose what type of woman you are? Why do you have to label yourself anything? I’m just a woman and I love being a woman.” – BEYONCE KNOWELS.

 

And the third,

When a female reporter asked Mallika Sherawat to defend her comment that India is “regressive and depressive,” she ripped her apart. “As a woman, I should lie about the state of women that’s in our country?” the actress replied. When the reporter wouldn’t give it up, the Bollywood actress just started dropping knowledge: “With female feticide, infanticide happening on an almost daily basis; with gang rapes making the headlines of almost every newspaper; with honor killings …” Her response came only a few weeks after the head of India’s Central Bureau of Investigation said ‘if rape can’t be prevented, it should be enjoyed’

I am still tight-lipped, wondering if there would ever be a full stop. The act of living is but mortal, whereas the power the women? Immortal and how!

One thought on “FEMINAZI #1 – Personal is Political?

  1. I am glad you decided to investigate Feminism. There are so many who have no idea what it is or what it represents. It has been misunderstood and poorly received by many. Often times declaring you are a feminist regulates you to the realm of being a man hater opening yourself up a world of hate and disgust. Where this comes from I am not sure, but I can speculate. The best we can do is to continue to stand up for our freedom from oppression, our right to equality and the respect deserved by all human beings, no matter where or how we live in this world. Kindest Regards Cheryle

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

